

## Minutes of the Durham Regatta Annual General Meeting

## Held (via 'Zoom') on Wednesday, 17th November 2021

**Present:** (TOWN members unless otherwise indicated)

Chris Bell, Oscar Brown (St Chad's College), Charlotte Carter (DCR), Patrick Chorley (Grey College), Phoebe Curtin (DCR), Charly Curtis, Jamie Finfer (St Aidan's College), Izzy Friedlander, James Lamb (Director), Colin Lawson, Henry Miller (University College), Tim Morris, Debbie Mortimer, Richard Mortimer (Director), David Robinson, Becca Sandercock (Collingwood College), David Squirrell (DCR), Nigel van Zwanenberg (Director), Dan Lockey, Hannah Parsler (Hatfield College).

- **1 Apologies**: The Right Worshipful the Mayor of Durham, Andrew Curtis, Mark Gilbank, Vaughan Gordon, Andrew Stephens,
- **2 Approval of Minutes from previous AGM 18th November 2020:** Taken as true record.
- 3 Matters Arising: None
- 4 Accounts year ending 31st August 2021:

The accounts are being finalised and will be made available to all members following sign off from the Directors. James Lamb, Director with responsibility for Finance, provided a summary to the meeting.

5 Executive Committee report for the year ending 31st August 2021:

A copy of the report is attached with the distribution of these minutes.

6 Questions to the Committee: None

## 7 Election of Officers for the 2022 regatta

Nominations, appropriately proposed and seconded, having been received, the following officers were duly elected for the year 2021/2022:

**7.1** President: Charly Curtis

**7.2** Chairman: Nigel van Zwanenberg

**7.3** Treasurer: James Lamb

Durham Regatta A Company Limited by Guarantee Registered in England No. 07479131 Registered

Office: The City Boathouse Durham Amateur Rowing Club, Green Lane, Durham, DH13JU



**7.4** Secretary: Izzy Friedlander

**7.5** Entries Secretary: Eddie Bryant

**7.6** Sponsorship Secretary: Deborah Mortimer

7.7 Site Manager(s): Chris Bell and Andrew Curtis

**7.8** Chair(s) of Race and Technical Committee: Andrew Stephens and Charly Curtis

7.9 Press & Publicity: Colin Lawson

7.10 Safety Advisor - Chair of Safety Sub-Committee: David Robinson

**7.11** Equipment Officer(s): Vaughan Gordon

7.12 Welfare Officer: Stella van Zwanenberg

**7.13** Volunteer Co-ordinator: Mark Gilbank

**7.14** Technical Adviser: Richard Mortimer

**7.15** The meeting noted the co-option of Tim Morris and Dan Lockey to the Executive Committee

## 8 Future Planning

The executive committee is planning for a full regatta, including bankside activities for 2022. The committee recommend that arrangements for safety boat cover at the regatta be regularised and be offered for tender to appropriately experienced, qualified and insured external organisations, following the principles already established for first aid cover. During the coming year, the regatta will examine the possibilities of outsourcing aspects of the bankside component of the regatta to event management or similar organisations, subject to appropriate contractual arrangements that ensure that the traditions and quality of the regatta are maintained or enhanced. No contractual commitments will take place before the start of the planning cycle for the 2023 regatta.

9 AOB: None.

Meeting closed 7.30.pm

Next Meeting: Members Meeting (provisional date) - Wednesday 16<sup>h</sup> February 2022