The Durham Regatta Committee dates back to the Regatta’s inception in 1834, although today Durham Regatta is run as a limited company.

Structure and purpose

In 2011, the trade and assets of the Durham Regatta Committee were transferred to Durham Regatta, a private company limited by guarantee. The members of Durham Regatta are drawn from local rowing clubs, schools and universities, as well as local government and other members of the Durham community. All members, as well as the directors and executive committee, give their time and service free of charge.


The company is run by nine directors, four of whom are appointed directly by the company. The remaining five are from the founding members of the Regatta: Durham Amateur Rowing Club, Durham University, Durham School and Durham County Council (which appoints two members).

Whilst the directors are responsible for the legal governance of the company, their main role is to develop and implement a long-term strategy.

Executive committee

An executive committee manages the Regatta, and are responsible for organising, running and ensuring the continuation of the Regatta. They also promote rowing generally, focusing on rowing in Durham City. This includes providing support to schools, rowing clubs, colleges and the public. The Chairman and Secretary of the Executive Committee also serve as two of the company’s directors.

The Executive Committee report to the members of the company at least four times a year, with additional meetings held in the four months leading up to the Regatta.

Committee members


  • Mr M. Laing
  • Mr J. Lamb
  • Dr I. Friedlander
  • Dr R. Mortimer
  • Mr M. Brian, Durham University
  • Mr M. Bell, Durham Amateur Rowing Club
  • Mr K. J. McLaughlin, Durham School
  • Mrs E. Scott, Durham County Council

Executive Committee

President Mr C. Curtis
Chairman Mr M. Laing Email
Treasurer Mr J. Lamb Email
Secretary Dr I. Friedlander Email 07873321629
Entries Secretary Mr D. Squirrell / Mr E. Bryant Email 07398 902681
Sponsorship Secretary Mrs D. A. Mortimer Email 07989 249782
Partnerships Officer Mr S. Wilson Email 0191 367 0010
07532 748086
Safety Committee Mr D. Robinson
Welfare Officer Mrs S. Wheeler Email
Site Manager Mr A. Curtis / Mr. C. Bell Email
Press Officer Mr C. Lawson / Miss R. Wilson Email
Equipment Officer Mr V. Gordon
Supporting Events Co-ordinator Mrs D. A. Mortimer Email 07989 249782
Volunteer Co-ordinator Mr D. Lockey Email
Chairman of Race
& Technical Committees
Mr A. Stephens
Technical Advisor Dr R. E. Mortimer Email 07817 223485

If you are interested in filling a vacant position, please contact the Regatta Secretary.